Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer



This December, David Burke’s essay “La influencia de la pobreza multidimensional en la desnutrición y complicaciones de salud de los indígenas panameños” appears in

This December, Jake Cliett’s essay “El cáncer de próstata en México” appears in The Classic, the Writing Intensive Program’s journal of undergraduate writin

This April, Bita Jadali’s essay “Effects of a double mutation on the structure and stability of the S.

The faculty and staff of the Division of Biological Sciences offer our congratulations to the biology major students graduating this December. Join us in celebrating these students and their accomplishments. View the virtual graduation video, with a slide for each graduating student.

Support our Department

Your contributions keep us going! There are numerous ways to give. You can donate or attend our events.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty. 

Undergraduate Research in Biology

Undergraduates majoring in biology have the opportunity to enhance their learning through direct participation in research and scholarship. At UGA, these opportunities enable undergraduates to participate in ground-breaking research, often as part of a team of graduate students and faculty. In fact, many students can earn academic credit while working under an experienced faculty mentor by taking BIOL 4960R or working directly with the Center for Undergraduate Research Opportunities (CURO). The Biological Sciences Undergraduate Research Fellowship (BSURF) has been established to support undergraduate research opportunities in the Division of Biological Sciences within the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. The Fellowship provides financial assistance to a student who has not had an opportunity to participate in a mentored research experience (paid, volunteer, or for credit) since matriculating to The University of Georgia.